Why Blog?

There is a lot of advice out there about how to blog successfully…choose a topic with widespread interest and stay on topic with your posts, “sneak” your self-promotion in amongst other relevant content (no more than 1 post in 10 should be a sales pitch), write well (duh), post often, never make a post that doesn’t include a photo…the list goes on. Since starting my new shop, Sweet Little Sparrow ~ vintage-inspired bridal accessories and adornments, I have toyed around with lots of ideas of how to use this blog. The truth though, is that none of these ideas have felt quite right to me. Wedding inspiration blog? There are already so many amazing blogs out there that fill this niche. Entrepreneurship? Etsy? Craftiness & DIY? Fashion? Any of these things could make a great blog, but I just can’t get excited about any of them.

So, why blog? Or, more specifically, why should I create this specific blog? I have been pondering this question for the past couple of weeks, and finally came up with the answer after reading a post by wedding and lifestyle industry expert, Liene Stevens, on her blog, Splendid Communications (Being Yourself, July 26, 2011). As Liene says, “As it relates to social media, the entire focus of blogs and other outlets is to bring transparency to the person who is writing. Reading this led to an “aha!” moment for me.

That’s it…transparency! That’s why I love to buy things on Etsy, or at my local farmer’s market, or from a small shop rather than a huge chain store. I like to meet the person who I’m buying from, and that interaction becomes part of the value of the product that I’m buying. My blog (or Facebook page, or Twitter posts, or Pinterest page…) allows me to communicate authentically with my would-be customers and let them know who I really am. It puts a face on my business, and gives is a personality. My personality! So, this blog will be my way of introducing myself and my brand to the world.

With this new focus in mind, I am feeling very enthusiastic about blogging! It will give me a unique opportunity to communicate with people, share things that I find interesting, and promote my brand. (which is the first of many of the “rules of blogging” that I will be breaking on this site). I will be using this blog to promote my shop – I will post new products, special sales, and links to places where my work is featured. I will talk about how I make my products, what makes them special, and why you should spend your hard-earned money on them. I will also talk about a variety of other topics, because I have a variety of other interests. Over time, I hope that this blog will become a genuine picture of who I am, starting with my next post: Who Is Sweet Little Sparrow?

Leave a Reply

